My First Halloween Scare

Posted on Updated on

Oh yes..It was a real Halloween for me, all right. Why? Because I wasn’t prepared at all to ‘perform’ a story in front of a crowd in a mall, as I was expecting a much smaller ‘gathering’ doing my typical way of narrating a story i.e. sitting down. But I was caught by surprise when my hubby and I reached the destination, to find many families and children gathered on the 4th floor of Bangsar Shopping Centre (BSC). It was buzzing with activities! There was noise, people, music blaring in the background, and an emcee announcing the Halloween activities for the day. Totally not what I had in mind.

Then I was told there’ll be a ‘Trick and Treat Walk’ organised by the mall which will run concurrently with the storytelling session. Oh, so most of them will be going for the trick or treat walk. Phew…! Relieved, I then quickly try to visualise how I was going to conduct the session coz I’ve never been here before. I thought, okay, maybe I sit somewhere in the middle and have the children sit facing me.

When the crowd for the ‘Trick & Treat Walk’ left the vicinity for the activity, the non-participants stayed back. The emcee then announced the storytelling session. During his announcement, I had a quick discussion with Times bookstore liaison, Yuki, about how we should conduct the session – sitting in the middle using one of the stools/low tables or standing in front of the crowd. She quickly suggested in front of the crowd since most of them were comfortably seated already. That’s when I realised…I can’t escape from this. No excuses. That’s when the emcee handed me the mic. Honestly, I had no idea how I wanted to begin, but did it anyway. I think then, if I were to see myself, I’d dig a hole 6 feet under and hide myself from the world HAHA

‘Room on the Broom’ is a pretty long story as compared to ‘The Gruffalo’ and ‘The Gruffalo’s Child’. It’s about a witch who went on a ride with her cat, flying happily over rivers and mountains on her broomstick, until the strong wind blew away the witch’s hat, bow and wand. They had to fly back down to search for these things; each time meeting a new friend – a dog, a bird and a frog, who then also joined them on their ride. Their adventure brought them face to face with a red, mean, hungry dragon who wanted to eat the witch.

This was a Halloween scare for me, as it was my first time telling my story standing in front of a ‘crowd’, and not knowing what to expect from them. I had to think on my feet on what I want to do/say next and how as the story progresses. I kinda improvised the story a little bit as I told it, to suit the crowd and their response.

These are some of the pix my hubby took. Hope you like them! And here’s wishing you a HAPPY, HORROR-FYING HALLOWEEN! 😀

Thank you all for coming & joining us on this horrorfying day! 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I forget to note: I was very touched when one of the children came to me, three times, just to say thank you. I have never felt such sincere appreciation before in my xx years of life. He looked me in the eye, with a smile on his face, palms facing each other, and said, “Thank you for everything.” Thank you Faris, for making my day. Thank you very much 🙂 *hugs*
2 thoughts on “My First Halloween Scare

    Storyteller John Weaver said:
    October 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    This is so great, Jee Wan! I really think–based on my own experiences–that getting thrown into the fire is the way to do it. You’ll remember this for years as a certain turning point, I’ll bet–it’s the start of big things for you!

    And I love that signage the bookstore made–it’s beautiful, and gives you nice credit. How did you begin a storytelling relationship with this bookstore?

    g1jeewan responded:
    October 30, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Thank you so much for your support and encouragement John! It was nerve-wracking to be thrown in like that, but like you said, it’s the way to do it 🙂 It did enjoy the challenge as well as I learnt alot from it! 🙂

    Yeah I love the poster too! About how I started with them….the marketing manager of the bookstore saw me conducting a storytelling session for a learning centre I was working at. So she approached me after that and asked if I’d like to do more for the bookstore on a more regular basis. I jumped at the opportunity! I’m very lucky and the manager is really kind too 🙂

Leave a Reply

