The Joys of Storytelling

Posted on Updated on

Our friends showing off their fantastic work 🙂 They drew, coloured and spotted!

This week’s story is ‘The Gruffalo’s Child by Julia Donaldson’. To my surprise 3 boys from last week’s storytelling session, returned 🙂 I was extremely delighted to see all of them again! One of them even called out my name from afar while running towards the stage. I didn’t know it was him at first, because when I turned around looking for the person calling my name, he was no longer there. He startled me by appearing right in front of me. I was elated when I saw that it was him 🙂 After the session he told me, “You know, I was so afraid I’ll be late!” No wonder he ran so fast! Haha

When we were waiting for his mom to come get him, I asked him which story was smarter, ‘The Gruffalo or ‘The Gruffalo’s Child’. He said ‘The Gruffalo’. He said, “I told the story again to my mom and brother. They laughed and liked it too!” I was thrilled hearing that he retold the story, so I asked, “Do you think you can retell ‘The Gruffalo’s Child’?” He thought for a while and said, “If you give me enough time, I can!” with a big grin on his face 🙂

Have no idea which part of the story I was telling here haha

Two new friends joined us this round. The girl was 4 and her brother 6 and am so glad they didn’t leave half way through! 😀 This time round, the boys helped me with the storytelling too. And what wonderful storytellers they were 🙂 Thank you, champs!

Am really looking forward to HALLOWEEN!

These are the recreations of The Big Bad Mouse by Jia Liang & Jia Ler 🙂 Brilliant pieces boys. Well done!

Jia Le's Big Bad Mouse. Looks like the fleas didn't like the BBM! Haha
Jia Liang’s version of The Big Bad Mouse! Arrrr! Check out those muscles!
2 thoughts on “The Joys of Storytelling

    Storyteller John Weaver said:
    October 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Those coloring sheets are so cool–lots of room for creativity! Glad you had a fun time–another session next week?

    g1jeewan responded:
    October 19, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Yep yep 🙂 Full schedule this month. Next week and the week after – HALLOWEEN theme! 😀

Leave a Reply

