Vámonos with stories in English and Spanish (by Lillian Rodrigues-Pang)

Posted on Updated on

This is a collection of folk tales told in English with repeated Spanish phrases so you can enjoy the culture, the Latin American and Australian locations, the characters and the language – fun for all ages.

(Vámonos means ‘let’s go’ in English) I was a little apprehensive about buying this CD. Listening to stories without any visual stimulants could be quite a challenge for me, because I’m more of a visual person. But because I like Lillian’s style, I trust that this CD will be worth the try. And I was right. The stories were good but Lillian made them even better and more entertaining.  The music also set the mood of the stories and made them more intense too. Listening to them made me laugh and shudder; smile and wonder; definitely took my mind off the busy roads on my way to work 🙂 This is the list of stories and songs:

  • Mouse Family – Raton Familia
  • CD Introduction
  • Perfect present – Regalo Perfecto
  • Leave this place – Sal de Alli
  • Senior Billy Goat – Senior Cabro
  • The Butterfly – La Mariposa
  • Wings of Blue – Alas de Azul

It’s hard to pick my favourite story from this list. But if I had to, it has got to be ‘Mouse Family’. Lillian’s voice is so versatile. I loved how much character she gave to the mice and the cat by merely using her voice. ‘Perfect Present’ was warm, endearing and a beautiful story to tell younger children. ‘Wings of Blue’, which is a song, has a very catchy tune. Singing along with it would definitely take away your Monday blues! 

A great company to be with when going on long family trips and to keep your children entertained! 😉 Ask them to guess the ending of the story, play a game like ‘What happened when…’/’What if’ after listening to one story, learn new Spanish words together, or try singing along to ‘Wings of Blue’ together 😀

4 thoughts on “Vámonos with stories in English and Spanish (by Lillian Rodrigues-Pang)

    Lillian Pang said:
    September 22, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Thank you,

    I love to hear what people think about the CD, Particularly as many people buy them as children’s entertainment. I too listen to story CD’s on the way to work. They are more uplifting and the stories carry me to better places for the entire day rather than news and traffic thoughts and grumpiness.

    g1jeewan responded:
    September 22, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Hi Lilli, Thank you for dropping by! I agree with what you say about listening to tragic news and grumpiness. Positive stories are more uplifting and they inspire too 🙂 And thanks for the wonderful stories you shared with us!

    myragarcesbacsal said:
    September 23, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    This is so cool. I was privileged to listen to Lillian during the SISF here (Festival night) – and I enjoyed it. I’m sure this CD would be fab as well.

    g1jeewan responded:
    September 23, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    It is! I listened to it whenever I need some REAL entertainment while driving 🙂 I like her style too 🙂

Leave a Reply

